Skip to main navigation.

2018 Board Elections

For 80 years, we’ve been owned and governed by members like you. As members, you have a say in our direction and a privilege to weigh in on the leadership who will represent you and your interests. This right is supported in the Corporation’s Bylaws and in the principles of our cooperative business structure.

Habersham EMC covers a service area mapped out into four districts. The nine-member board of directors are local residents and Habersham EMC members.  These positions are elected on a rotating basis for three-year terms. Each elected board of director represents an approximate equal number of members. As a member of Habersham EMC, you may vote for directors each year.

This year, members will have the opportunity to elect directors from 2 of our 4 districts.  

On March 1, 2018, the Habersham EMC Board will appoint a Nominating Committee to make nominations to fill the expiring terms of:


Central District                    East District

George Fry                           Jeff Ferguson

                                             Kenneth McEntire   


Nominations are made by the committee and also may be made by petition.

Members wishing to run for a board position must be a resident of the Central or East districts. If you do not know which HEMC district you reside in, contact the HEMC office and we will be happy to advise you.

The Nominating Committee will begin accepting candidate applications from March 1 through April 19, 2018, by the close of business at 5 p.m.  All applications received in the office by the April 19 deadline will be presented to the Nominating Committee.  

The Nominating Committee will meet April 26, 2018 to make nominations.

Applications by petition will be accepted from March 1 through May 10, 2018, by the close of business at 5 p.m.    

Applications should be addressed to: Election, Habersham EMC, 6135 State Hwy. 115 West, Clarkesville, GA  30523, sent by email to or dropped by the office.

Nominations will be available on this website, posted in the Habersham EMC Clarkesville and Cleveland offices and will be published in the Georgia Magazine newsletter prior to the HEMC Annual Meeting on July 19, 2018.


Additional Information:

Please see all the supporting documents at the links below.

More information relating to Habersham EMC’s 2018 Board Elections and voting will be placed at this site as the process continues through the year.

If you have any questions, please contact Carolyn Helton, Habersham EMC Executive Assistant, at (706) 839-4137.


Annual Business Meeting – Thursday, July 19

HEMC members are encouraged to mark their calendars now to attend the 80th HEMC Annual Business Meeting on Thursday, July 19, 2018.  The meeting will be held at the Habersham Ninth Grade Academy, 171 Raider Circle, Mt. Airy, GA. 

This year’s event is scheduled to include the election of three directors, a free barbecue meal, and opportunity to win valuable door prizes and special entertainment by Karen Peck and New River.



Habersham EMC Bylaws

Board District Map - Overall

Central District Map

East District Map

North District Map

West District Map

Candidate application

Petition application


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo